Forty-five years and still going strong, This Magazine is one of Canada’s longest-publishing alternative journals. Founded by a gang of school activists in 1966, and originally called This Magazine is About Schools, the modern-day This Magazine focuses on Canadian politics, pop culture and the arts, but in keeping with its radical roots never pulls punches. Subversive, edgy and smart, This Magazine is the real alternative to that.

Praised for integrating commentary and investigative reporting with in-depth arts coverage, This Magazine has been instrumental in trumpeting the new works of young Canadian writers and artists. In fact, over the past 45 years, This Magazine has introduced the early work of Canada’s most notable writers, critics and artists, including Margaret Atwood, Dionne Brand, Tomson Highway, Naomi Klein, Evelyn Lau, Dennis Lee, Michael Ondaatje, Rick Salutin, Stan Persky, Robert Priest, Al Purdy, Drew Hayden Taylor and Clive Thompson.


Editor: Lauren McKeon (editor at thismagazine dot ca, 416-979-8400)

Publisher: Lisa Whittington-Hill (publisher at thismagazine dot ca, 416-979-9429)

Art Director: Dave Donald (design at thismagazine dot ca)

This & That Editors: Catherine McIntyre (news at thismagazine dot ca)
Fiction & Poetry Editor: Dani Couture (lit at thismagazine dot ca)
Arts & Ideas Editor: Sue Carter (arts at thismagazine dot ca)
Reviews Editor: Nadya Domingo (reviews at thismagazine dot ca)
Columns Editor: Erica Lenti (columns at thismagazine dot ca)

Editor Emeritus: Mel Watkins

Editors At Large: André Alexis, Alison Armstrong, Margaret Atwood, Anurita Bains, Joyce Byrne, Arnold Chiari, Susan Crean, Julie Crysler, Lynn Cunningham, Andrea Curtis, Patricia D’Souza, Moira Farr, Judy Fudge, Jessica Leigh Johnston, Mark Kingwell, Naomi Klein, Gordon Laird, Linda McQuaig, Judith Parker, Laurel Ritchie, Lisa Rundle, Rick Salutin, Doug Saunders, Emily Schultz, Graham F. Scott, Jason Sherman, Lynn Spink, Clive Thompson, RM Vaughan, Joyce Wayne, Armine Yalnizyan

Board of Directors:
Deborah Brewster
Vice-Chair: Chris Ellis
Directors: Rebecca Gimmi, Mark Higgins, Evan Munday, Bill Reynolds
Ex-Officio: Lauren McKeon, Lisa Whittington-Hill

This Magazine is published six times a year by the Red Maple Foundation, a registered charity (charitable registration number 11911 3140 RR0001). This Magazine’s list of subscribers is occasionally used by other organizations to do one-time mailings of information our readers might be interested in. Please contact us if you would not like to receive these mailings. This Magazine is indexed in the Canadian Periodical Index, the Canadian Literary Press Index, Alternative Press Index and the Canadian Magazine Index, and on microfiche and microfilm from University Microfilm, Ann Arbour, Michigan.

This Magazine receives valued financial support from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council. We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Publication Assistance Program and the Canada Magazine Fund.